On Saturday night, Washburn Girls Soccer had a program-wide celebration with players and coaches.  Here’s a link to the photos from the fun night.

We were excited to finally get all the players together. For those of you new to the program, in a normal year, all four teams would have mingled a number of times to get to know each other and for teambuilding.  Because of Covid, most of those events were canceled–no alumni game, captains’ practice, kick-off potluck, or end of the season banquet to celebrate with parents, coaches and players. On Saturday, we took some elements from another missed tradition, the Miller Cup, and all got together to celebrate 2020 style.  The Miller Cup is a practice where all four teams are mixed up to form smaller teams that compete in dodgeball, small-sided soccer scrimmages, and a dance contest.  On Saturday, the girls stayed within their regular teams but had a picnic and competed in a scooter relay race and a dance contest.  Then we took some elements from the traditional banquet and had coaches introduce their teams and hand out awards that players and coaches had voted on.  Some players also spoke.  Lastly, we had the traditional Senior Send Off where the seniors received their gifts from the booster club and each got to say a few words about her time as a Miller.

Coach Reina Nelson introduced the B Squad which is made up of eighth and ninth graders.  Their Most Improved Player (MIP) was Maggie Kocanda and Most Valuable Player (MVP) Tierney Mullady.

Coaches Sarah Shepard and Ella Endo introduced JV Blue.  Four Juniors, Anna Christensen, Arianna Hawkins, Avery Cmiel, and Tia Linder also talked about their season. JV Blue’s MIP, Tia Linder and MVP Alyvia Hildebrandt.

Coach Lydia Ruppert introduced JV Orange and Captain Paige Selberg said a few words.  MIP Kate Moore and Co MVPs Izzy McEwan and Sylvia Pulkrabek.

Coaches Cheryl Peterson and Reuben Ndely introduced the Varsity team and captains Liz Ocar, Lillian Selberg, Sonia Svedahl, and Quinn Jurek spoke.  Rookie of the Year honors went to freshman Amelia Anderson, MIP Gabby Harritt, and MVP Quinn Jurek.  Quinn and Lillian also won the Miller Award which recognizes leadership and is voted on by the entire program.

Please watch your email for another Washburn Soccer tradition—a link to the end of the year slideshow!  (Should be ready in a week or so.)

2020 certainly was a strange season, but we are happy we were able to play soccer and make some friends.  The B Squad, JV Orange and JV Blue teams have finished their seasons and the Varsity has its first Sections game at Washburn against Hopkins at 7:00 pm on Wednesday, October 14 (streaming link to come.)  Thank you to all the family members who volunteered time and supported their student athletes and our teams this year.  A special thank you to Janet Mitdbo, Lori Malvey, Cary Percy and Laurie Kocanda for your work preparing for and running the event Saturday night.  Thank you to the parents who showed up early to help wrangle the kids!

Good luck to you all as the school year moves on.  And remember what Coach Reuben says, “Your training for next year starts now!”